Skip to main content

LibSearch EN

What is LibSearch?

The LibSearch search engine provides single search access to all physical and digital (scientific) collections of the University Library (UL) of Vrije Universiteit and other libraries and databases worldwide.

Accessing LibSearch is possible from the library Homepage or visit WorldCat Discovery.

Searching LibSearch

By default, a basic search is a “keyword” search; searching all fields of all records in LibSearch.
The default sort order for search results is: Sorted by:  Library; results from UL collections are sorted first.

-Use Sorted by to change sort order.
-Use Search Tools at the left hand of the screen to limit searches.
-Use Advanced Search for guided searching.

Click on title and description to view full bibliographic information.
Always check Explore all editions & formats for possible alternative editions.

Additional information on searching LibSearch (=WorldCat Discovery)
Search in WorldCat Discovery
Searching WorldCat indexes: Quick reference
FAQ LibSearch
Basic Search Tips OCLC WorldCat (YouTube 8:18)
Advanced Search Tips OCLC WorldCat (YouTube 8:43)

Availability of records

Only titles marked Held by: VU Library are actually full text available in the UL for viewing, lending or consultation.
Titles not available in the UL may be requested through Interlibrary Loan using the option Request Item through Interlibrary Loan.

Availability options:

→  Fulltext: View eBook or View full text or Access journal.

→  Selfservice: Available Main Building MAINOPEN Selfservice (normal loan) RS.01942.-
Materials in open stacks: Collect at indicated location and use self-service machine to borrow

→  Stack Request: Available Main Building H09MAG2 Stack Request (normal loan)  HH.03463.-
Materials in closed stacks: Click on title and Place Hold.
Holds will be available at the chosen pickup location within indicated times.

→  Reference only: e.g. Available Main Building MAINSTUDIE Reference Only (not for loan)  RZ.00730.r: 3.1 (010)
Reference materials, not for loan

LibSearch and Citation Managers

Use Cite to export a LibSearch citation to citation managers EndNote, RefWorks or RIS as an easy way to include references in your publication.

Questions regarding LibSearch? Ask your library