Our LibSearch search system is the first database to search for scientific literature.
LibSearch contains information about all books, e-journals, e-articles and other materials of the University Library; in case of digital availability you can click directly to the full text.
In addition, LibSearch contains information about the holdings of many libraries worldwide.
If a search in LibSearch does not yield satisfactory results, you can use the subject-specific databases below or use Google Scholar.
Top journals: a selection of frequently cited journals in wich FGB employees regularly publish.
Look for a more complete overview E-Journals A-Z
Open archives - based on the ArXiv preprint-servermodel
Compulsory literature is in principle available in the University Library, for example, Research methods in psychology. These books are recognizable as' Course literature (SAME DAY RETURN) and available through the lending desk. If available as an e-book such as The qualitative interview it can be found and read online via LibSearch.
DSM Library contains the reference works DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders; Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; Clinical Cases.
Sage Research Methods a tool for researchers, teachers, and students to assist in research projects. It offers qualitative and quantitative methods of research techniques.
The Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology provides an overview of current knowledge in the field of cross-cultural, cultural, and indigenous psychology.
You can find useful online textbooks at Oxford Scholarship Online
The use of open material in education is increasingly encouraged. More and more are becoming available, although it is difficult to find the right material. It is important to know the do's and dont's about Copyright.
Information about Educational resources and copyright support can be found in our Libguide Dealing with Copyright in Education. It also contains information about and links to sites with open learning material.
Do you want to find books that are freely available? Then search via:
Google BookSearch: a large, mostly full-text searchable database of millions of scanned books from libraries and publishers. Select in Advanced search: search full view only.
Hathi Trust: provides access to a collection of millions of digitized titles from libraries around the world. Search within 'advanced search', by checking "full view only" you search for open access sources.
Beeld en Geluid: manages a broad, daily growing media collection, with which everyone can learn, experience, and create.
Information about Off-campus access
We recommend that you install the Lean Library browser extension on your computer, which allows you to use automatically access digital content from the University Library and Open Access content to track your literature.
Read in How to get the PDF? how to find alternative versions of the publisher version of a magazine article.
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright