This module teaches you how to find data for your thesis quickly and efficiently via the UL Research Data Services. By the end of the module you will know:
This module is designed primarily for students who are working with existing data and who want to search databases for sources for their thesis.
Before you start your research project you need to decide whether you need statistical data. If you use existing data you can save yourself a lot of time and hassle; you won't need to collect new data yourself.
Work through the subject by looking carefully at your research question and deciding which data you need. It would be a terrible waste of time and energy if you had to start again from scratch because no data were available.
Research problem: How is the educational performance of second-generation immigrants influenced by the educational system?
Where to start
The following data will help you to answer this question:
All you need are the answers to three simple questions to find out which databases you need for your thesis. Answer these questions on the basis of your research question:
We used the following research question as an example:
“How is the educational performance of second-generation immigrants influenced by the educational system?”
These three questions might then be answered as follows:
Databases which (largely) cover the answers to these three questions will be useful for your research.
Finding, managing and archiving research data is a fast-developing field which requires specific knowledge. Research Data Services supports researchers and students during the entire data lifecycle, from their initial research plan up to the archiving of the results.
Research Data Service offers:
A lot of databases use codes as unique identification for countries or languages. Databases also use internationally agreed codes such as:
Download these codes with the data that you need from the databases. You can then use them to link data from different databases via programs like Excel, SPSS and Eviews.
Remember that countries can change through time. Countries can break up and new countries can be formed. Consult the manual or the database help files if you are unsure which codes are correct.
Suppose you need financial data on companies. Sometimes you need more than one database to access certain data. Check out the possibilities of finding data on the same company in two or more databases.
Each database uses its own codes to uniquely identify each company. Secondly, listed companies often have codes that appear in different databases, such as:
Download these codes with the data from your first database. You can use them as a list in a second database when you download additional data. Be sure to take along the same codes when you download data from the second database. Otherwise you won't be able to combine the data from the two databases with programs like Excel, SPSS and Eviews.
Research Data Services - Promo Data Support (1:39 min) (no sound)
A preliminary survey of the literature on your subject could inspire you in your search for suitable data. Journal articles on similar research can give you an idea of the data that is used with specific research methods. Remember that you may need other or supplementary data if you are researching a subject from a different angle.
In 2010 a report appeared on employment and consumer confidence in the Netherlands. The World Bank Open Data database was used to draw comparisons with other countries. A report like this might prompt you to use the same data but for a different investigation based on, for example, more specific consumer spending statistics (available via Passport GMID; LibSearch -> Links -> Other VU resources -> e-Resources A-Z).
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright