In this module you learn how catalogues and bibliographies are used to find suitable literature for your paper or research. It shows you the possibilities, advantages and drawbacks of the various databases available, so that you can choose which to use to find literature in a particular situation.
Most of these databases are electronically available (e-resources). Most of these databases can be accessed on the university campus or from home using your VUnetID.
It should be noted that, especially in the Humanities, there are still bibliographies which are not (yet) available in electronic form. Paper versions are available in the reading rooms.
This module will take you about 20 minutes to complete.
We assume that you know what keywords in a search query are. If necessary, take the module 'How do I start a literature search?'.
Depending upon the type of information you are looking for, you need to distinguish between catalogues and bibliographies.
Catalogues list what publications are hold by libraries: books, CD's, DVD's, electronic databases and (electronic) journals. LibSearch is the main search site provided by the University Library of VU University Amsterdam. Here you can search the main collections of the Library, such as the e-Journals collection, VU-DARE (academic publications) and the Image database.
Bibliographies provide a summary of publications in a particular subject area, on a particular topic or by a particular author. These can include books, chapters of books, articles in journals, reviews and so on, regardless of where these are to be found. Use bibliographies when you want to find out about everything an author has published, for example, or about what publications have appeared on a subject.
The advantage of consulting a bibliography is that you can carry out a more specific and complete search regarding a particular topic.
The drawback is that not all the publications listed may be easy to obtain.
Many bibliographies specialize in a particular field of study, or part of one. But others have a much wider scope. One which covers almost all aspects of science is Web of Science. This module provides a brief introduction to it.
If relevant, important databases of a particular field of study will be introduced.
LibSearch is the worldwide search system of the University Library. Here you can search globally in the collections of the participating libraries, you limit the search to Dutch libraries or opt for the University Library collections. Books, articles, theses, dissertations, other scientific publications university scientists and the Image Bank. You can also expand your search to specific databases.
Find detailed information about searching for literature in the LibGuide LibSearch (Dutch only)
As in LibSearch, you may find literature on your topic in bibliographic databases. One particularly important bibliographic database is Web of Science (WoS). Web of Science is a part of ISI Web of Knowledge, which contains several more databases.
Web of Science encompasses all academic disciplines and is made up of three international citation indexes.
As the name "citation index" suggests, Web of Science is a citation database as well as a bibliography. The difference between the two is that:
In this module, only the use of Web of Science as a bibliography is described.
The underneath screenshot shows how to get access to Web of Science through the UBVU website.
The screenshot underneath shows the opening screen of Web of Science. Go to View a brief tutorial for instructions about searching Web of Science.
Web of Science is one of the biggest databases available for tracing journal articles. And it also lists book reviews. As ever, though, there are drawbacks as well as benefits.
To find out whether a particular article is held by the UBVU (electronically or on paper), click on the red icon (VU Link) in its literature reference.
You only see a link to the full text of an article if the UBVU subscribes to the electronic version of the journal concerned. The example below is for the title 'Commentary: new technologies, public relations, and democracy'.
If the University Library has a subscription to the electronic version of the magazine, you will get this screen to see a link to the full text version of the article. Through this link, click to get your go directly to the requested article.
If an item is not accessible electronically via the University Library, you can click:
|Web of Science||
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright