The research process can be summarized in the following steps:
After defining your research topic, the first step you will take is to uncover existing knowledge. You will need to search for literature and review it. When searching for literature, your chances of success are largely determined by your approach. If you search randomly, your chances of finding the relevant literature in the abundance of publications are very small indeed. If you adopt a systematic approach or plan, your chances will be much better. A good search strategy will save you time.
In this section we describe the steps to take and the methods and sources that you can use to find literature for your research efficiently.
A search profile consists of a list of search terms that you have derived from your problem definition or research question.
Formulate an Answerable Question
Make use of dictionaries or the thesauri of the bibliographic databases specific for your research area.
There are various ways of searching for literature. Here we describe 2 methods:
Building blocks method
With this method you take a single publication as starting point and then search for publications on the same topic.
LibSearch is the main search site provided by the University Library of VU University Amsterdam. Here you can search the main collections of the Library, such as the Library Catalogue, e-Journals collection, VU-DARE (academic publications) and Imagebase.
All digital files you find are accessible from the campus or at home with your VUnetID or VUmc-account.
In LibSearch you will find information about:
You can use the list of e-journals:
In the list of e-resources you will find several websites (subject specific) and databases, including bibliographies like WoS. There you can find references to literature on all possible subjects.
Research Data Services provides help and advice in finding data. Whether you require international statistics, financial & economic data, market or company information, Research Data Services can help you to find the right data.
For researchers and PhD students, Research Data Services offers:
In order to help you get the most out of these databases, Research Data Services provides online support online as well as personal help through the helpdesk.
Research Data Services is available online through Blackboard, the VU digital learning environment. You need to enroll/register to get access. From that time on the Research Data Services course will be automatically included in your list of enrolled courses.
Follow the next steps to enroll for the first time:
Three times a week (from January to June), you can freely walk into the Data Center room for consultation without previous appointment. See Walk-in help desk.
From July to December you can make an appointment with one of the trainers for assistance or to request a personal training.
Contact Research Data Services
De Boelelaan 1103, Room 1B-21
1081 HV Amsterdam
T (020) 598 5166
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright