The purpose of research andpublishing your results in articles is to contribute to the advancement of knowledge. Publishing your research is not an easy task. This module has been developed to give you the necessary information and advice about the author rights aspects of the publishing process.
Many researchers doubt about publishing their articles online because they think publishers do not allow it. But you are allowed to do more than you think. Have a look at this movie (duration: 2.36") where Prof. D.J.G. Visser (Professor of Intellectual Property Law at Leiden University) and em. Prof. Martijn B. Katan (Professor Nutrition and Health, VU University Amsterdam) explain that as an author you have the authority over your copyright (see video at the right side of this page).
The Copyright Toolbox has made some licenses you can use to make the proper legal arrangements with your publisher.
Publishing of academic articles is traditionally characterized by:
Open Access publications are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or search. There are two ways to provide Open Access to your research output:
Open Access Journals
Online self–archiving (Repositories)
Advantages of Open Access
Disadvantages of Open Access
Open Access Institutional Repositories are databases with full-text publications from researchers of one particular university. These publications are always accessible for everyone through the internet. All Dutch universities and many universities in other countries have an institutional repository.
Why should I upload my articles / publications in such a repository?
VU-DARE is the Digital Academic REpository (DARE) of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. This repository is open for anyone at the VU as a place to capture, store, index, preserve and redistribute VU faculty and staff research output materials in digital format (full-text publications).
How can I submit my publications in VU-DARE?
The best way to submit your full-text publications is by uploading them via Metis. Metis is a database where bibliographic information of research output of all Dutch universities is registered.
After filling in information about your research in VU-Metis, such as your name (author) and title of your research, you can easily upload your full-text publication in VU-DARE and make it available on the internet.
There are 2 options to submit your publication:
NARCIS is the portal that gives access to full-text research publications from all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO, other research institutes, as well as datasets of the DANS institute, and other related information like descriptions of research projects, institutes and researchers.
Hybrid Publishing is a combination of traditional and Open Access publishing.
A hybrid journal is partly subscription based and partly open access. The author pays the publisher a fee to publish his/her article open access and is allowed to deposit his/her article immediately in an open access repository. The same publisher may also allow authors to deposit after an embargo period without payment of a fee. A list of ‘hybrid publishers' can be found at the SHERPA RoMEO website.
Authors use both publishers' channel and online self-archiving (institutional repositories). Some publishers allow the deposition of their published version/PDF in institutional repositories under certain conditions. These conditions can be found here.
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright