When searching for scholarly literature your first best option is our library discovery tool LIbSearch.
LibSearch offers acces to all (e)books, (e)journals and (e)-articles and other materials in our library.
LibSearch also offers information on many collections of libraries and databases worldwide.
When searching for literature on a specific subject we recommend that you check our online LibGuide on Smart and systematic literature searches.
Should a search in LIbSearch retrieve unsatisfactory results you may want to use one of our subject-specific databases listed below, or use Google Scholar.
Always check which content has been included in your specific database!
Many major journals are available in digitale editions through LibSearch; in some cases not all volumes may be available in digital format.
LibSearch also includes journals that are available in print-edition only.
Older print-volumes may be requested from our closed stacks by using the Place Hold option in LIbSearch.
Current print issues of Humanities-journals are shelved in the library on Floor 10, Main Building VU (entrance at Floor 9.)
LibSearch contains information about all books, e-journals, e-articles and other materials of the University Library. Available e-books can be consulted directly from the screen; often (part of) the text can be downloaded.
Older print books are usually in closed warehouses and can be requested from LibSearch.
Exam literature (print books) for all Humanities is available in the library on the 1st floor.
Print books that are not available in the library collection can be requested from other libraries by clicking on the desired title in LibSearch and then clicking on
The publication and use of open educational resources is increasingly common, although it can still be difficult to find suitable materials. It is important to consider copyright. The Libguide on Dealing with Copyright in Education provides more information.
The library of the University of Amsterdam has useful information on finding open educational resources.
Information about Off-campus access
We recommend that you install the Lean Library browser extension on your computer, which allows you to use automatically access digital content from the University Library and Open Access content to track your literature.
Read in How to get the PDF? how to find alternative versions of the publisher version of a magazine article.