For data to be considered valid and reliable, data collection should occur consistently and systematically throughout the course of the research project. Data collection guidelines and established methodologies should be used to gather data. Some disciplines make use of codebooks, whereas others use protocols for data gathering. These procedures help researchers collect data according to conventional methodological steps. If a research project involves multiple partners (in a consortium) it should be clear who is responsible for the collection of what (part of the) data. Iimportant aspects of data collection include:
This relates to the Reproducibility of your research according to the FAIR-data principles.
The tools being used in research to collect data are immensely diverse. For that reason, we will not provide an exhaustive overview here. What is important for data collection tools in relation to RDM is where such tools store the data that you collect and in which format. The storage location is particularly important when you are working with personal data. For example, the privacy legislation in the United States is very different from the European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Hence, personal data collected in a Dutch research institute may not be stored on American servers. It is important to keep that in mind when you are contemplating which tool to use for your data collection.
If you are collecting personal data and you decide to use a tool for which no contract exists between VU Amsterdam and the provider of the software or tool, a service agreement must be drawn up. Get in touch with IXA for setting up such an agreement.
The Faculty of Bahavioural and Movement Sciences has developed the document “Choosing a questionnaire tool” with a decision tree for choosing between two questionnaire tools, namely Qualtrics and Survalyzer. Tips for safe use of questionnaire tools are included as well. Consult this document if you need a questionnaire tool to collect your data
Some research projects involve the participation of multiple organizations or institutes and may include even cross-border co-operation. When data is collected by several organizations a Data Management Plan should provide information on who is responsible for which part of the data collection. It should also provide information on how specific data collections are related to which part(s) of the research goal(s). You see a general example of such a specification in the table below:
|Data Stage||Dataset description||Responsible organization for collection||Data origin||Data purpose|
|Raw data||Community level surveys||Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam||Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam||Identifying perceived problems, System responsiveness|
|Raw data||Trials & Focus Group Interviews||London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM)||Germany, Switzerland||Trials to evaluate programs on . . ., Focus Group interviews to identify barriers to . . .|
|Raw data||Pollution measurements using fish||Oceanographic Institute of Sweden||Coastal waters, Northeast Spain||Establish pollution levels of plastic|
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.