There are various reasons to archive your data: replication, longitudinal research, data being unique or expensive to collect, re-usability and acceleration of research inside or outside your own discipline. Part of preparing your dataset for archiving is appraising and selecting your data.
During your research you may accumulate a lot of data, some of which will be eligible for archiving. It is impossible to preserve all data infinitely. Archiving all digital data is associated with high costs for storage itself and for maintaining and managing this ever-growing volume of data and their metadata; it may also lead to decline in discoverability (see the website of the Digital Curation Centre). For those reasons, it is crucial that you make a selection.
Selecting data means making choices about what to keep for the long term. This means that you have to decide whether your dataset contains data that need to be removed. Reasons to exclude data from archiving include (but are not limited to):
In preparing your dataset for archiving, the first step is to determine which parts of your data are sensitive, which can then be separated from the other data. Redundant data can be removed altogether.
Once you have separated the sensitive data from the rest of your dataset, you have to think about what to do with these sensitive materials. In some cases they may be destroyed, but you may also opt for archiving multiple datasets. For example, you may want to archive your dataset in more than one form depending on the purpose. For example:
For the first, the non-sensitive data can be stored in an archive under restricted or open access conditions, so that you can share it and link it to publications. For the second, you need to make a separate selection, so the sensitive part can be stored safely in a secure archive (a so-called offline or dark archive). In the metadata of both archives you can create stable links between the two datasets using persistent identifiers.
Below you find a flowchart that helps you determine what data to select for archiving. This might also help you or your department to think about a standard policy or procedures for what needs to be kept, what is vital for reproducing research or reuse in future research projects.
More information on selecting data:
See the section Metadata & Documentation for more information about documenting your data.
Depending on the research project it may be that more than one dataset is stored in more than one repository. Make sure that each consortium partner that collects data also stores all necessary data that is required for transparency and verification. A Consortium Agreement and Data Management Plan will include information on who is responsible for archiving the data.
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.