University Library
University Library
Bibliographic databases collect information on metadata of relevant publications, and organizes these metadata so that they can be searched. The metadata can include the title, authors, abstract, references, etc. In some cases, the database also provide access to the full text of the publication, but this is not always the case.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe university library makes several databases available for staff and students looking for socio-economic, financial, geographic, or demographic data. Please consult the Libguide Finding Data for more information on these databases and how to access them.
The Libguide Working with data has useful tips on how to work with these databases, for example for combining data from different sources or for doing event studies.
Almost all recent publications (and many older ones) for journals in economics and business are available online, and can be found through LibSearch. Volumes that are only available in print can be requested through LibSearch as well. This guide provides instructions on using LibSearch efficiently.
Good academic publications reference the original sources used for the research. As a rule of thumb, the more an academic publication is cited in other work, the more influential that work is for the field. Academic journals are therefore often ranked using a measure of their citation impact. There are many different ways to construct such a measure, each of which will give a different ranking.
Two citation measures that are often used are the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) by the Web of Science, and the Citescore metric used by Scopus. You can find links to both databases under Bibliographic Databases. You can use the ranking for those metrics to find influential journals in your field. Make sure that you choose an appropriate field for the ranking, the global list is probably not very useful!
The journals listed below are considered high quality, and publish overviews of many different topics. A good start if you're new to a field.
The mission of Annals is to publish up-to-date, in-depth and integrative reviews of research advances in management.
The Journal of Economic Literature is designed to help economists keep abreast of the vast flow of literature.
The Journal of Economic Perspectives attempts to fill a gap between the general interest press and most other academic economics journals.
Books can be found in and accessed through LibSearch. This guide gives instructions on using LibSearch efficiently.
Many recent books are available digitally; LibSearch will provide to correct links and make sure that you will have access. Access rights for digital books vary: some books can be downloaded, others can only be read from screen. Often, the number of simultaneous users is limited.
Older books and many textbooks are only available in print. The open stack books for business and economics (including course literature) can be found on the first floor of the main building, near the main Library desk. Most books can be taken out for three weeks. Course literature can be consulted at the library during opening hours. Books in closed stacks can be requested through LibSearch.
Please see these tips and tricks to facilitate access to digital resources away from campus. It is especially recommended to install the Lean Library plugin for your browser.
If you do not have access to the publisher's version of a publication, How to get the pdf? might help to find alternative versions.
