The best method to import references into an EndNote Library is the Save to + 'Import text file' option. This is available in every databases.
Many databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference into your EndNote library. The necessary steps and terminology may differ with the database and also differs within different browsers. Some browsers, like Firefox doesn't support this option. In Google Chrome, downloads are saved to the download folder by default.
|If direct export doesn't work use the option 'Importing text files from databases'.|
General outline of the basic steps required by most databases:
web of science script
Note: The direct option doesn't work within every browser. If it doesn't work: use the 'importing text files from databases option'.
In Web of Science you can add references to a marked list before exporting or export without marking records or you can export all references (up to 1000 in one file).
1 . Export Marked list
2. Export without marking records
- Perform a search
- Click on the button Export
- Choose RIS
- Choose either all records on page or a range of records (up to 1000)
- Choose the record content: 'Full record'
- Click on the export File and the records and import starts in your opened library.
The records should automatically be exported to Endnote. Sometimes you need to choose between save as.. and citation manager. After the first time Scopus will remember your RIS setting and and jumps to the citation manager promptly.
You can undo this by clicking the drop down arrow right next to the Export link.Browsers handle downloads differently. Chrome saves in the download folder by default.
If Direct Export doesn't work in your browser, use the 'importing text files from databases option'.
Export single references from PubMed:
You can export a single reference directly into your Endnote Library. Click in the list of references on 'cite' underneath the number of the reference.
Or, if you have opened the reference by clicking on the title:
Click in right column on: and open directly into your library. Browsers handle downloads differently. Chrome saves in the download folder by default.
For exporting more than one reference: see the information Importing Text files from databases.
EBSCO uses the same method for exporting references in all databases. You can select references and export them directly into EndNote. This will take a few steps. If you want to export all results and it's a large amount of records, you can choose the option Email to create a file. See more information on importing text files from EBSCO databases.
Without a login, In ProQuest you can only save 100 records a time.
For exporting more than 100 references: see the information Importing Text files from databases.
Configure Google Scholar to send references to EndNote.
After performing a search on Google Scholar click on the 'Import into EndNote'-link for the reference you want to import. If you are presented with a window asking if you want to 'Open' or 'Save' the file, choose to open the file. In the next window: select the EndNote library you want to use. You can also click on " to export references. Chrome places export in downloads folder by default.
Finding the link to referencing Google books is a bit hidden.
- Search for a book
- Select the title you wish to export
- Look at the Left hand side of the screen for a link 'more information' or 'about this book' and scroll down until you see an EndNote button
- If that link is absent, scroll all the way down until you see the EndNote button
When you have created an Endnote online account, you can use a browser tool or bookmarklet for importing records.
EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio): is a free browser plugin that helps you to access research papers in one click.
The capture tool is a bookmarklet that you add to your browser's Bookmark Toolbar. When searching article databases, you can view a record and then click the button on your toolbar to import to EndNote Web. This works with many popular databases like JSTOR and PubMed and many journal publisher sites. It also works with Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer. Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar.
EndNote Web has addons for Internet Explorer and Firefox. This adds a button to your toolbar that works in the same way as the Bookmarklet.
The Internet Explorer addon will be installed automatically when you install the Cite While You Write tool for Word. The Firefox addon is installed manually like other Firefox addons.
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright