EndNote has the ability to search for full text articles which you have access to through the VU library subscriptions and/or that are freely available on the Internet to attach to your existing references. When EndNote locates a copy of an article, it automatically downloads and attaches the PDF the corresponding EndNote record.
To get the most out of this feature, you will first need to change some settings in EndNote.
Go to Edit > preferences
1. Change the settings: automatically invoke find full text
2. Change the settings: to find full-text outside the campus
In EndNote you can add PDF's (full text documents) automatically.
In some cases this may seem useful, after all, it saves a lot of work. In other cases, e.g. when importing thousands of references it is not recommended: the download time will be impacted enormously, the library size increases as well. You can control this through your EndNote preferences.
Top bar > Edit – Preferences – Find Full Text
If you are working with large reference sets it is recommended to uncheck the box 'automatically invoke find full text'
Go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text
Copy/paste this information:
|Authenticate with URL:||https://vu-nl.idm.oclc.org/login?url=|
Go to Edit > Preferences > URLs&Links
ISI Base URL:
In EndNote, you can search for the full text of documents. Select the reference(s):
Right-click and choose 'Find Full text' or use this button:
References with a connected PDF can be recognised by a paperclip.
Sometimes, a PDF isn't attached automatically, but EndNote did find an URL.
You can link to full text for any reference in EndNote (in short or long presentation) making use of the linking mechanism of the University Library. Make sure you have changed your preferences.
Go to Edit > Preferences > URLs&Links
ISI Base URL:
You will see a screen for the publication concerned or you will be linked directly to the full text.
It can happen that you can not find a PDF to your imported references. Reasons could be:
If you have found an article in a literature database such as PubMed, try to find the VU link leading you to another database and see if you can get access to the article.
Tips for finding Full text
If you could not find a link through the Open URL-option in EndNote, try the following steps:
You can now add the PDF manually to your reference. See the tab 'Adding PDF's manually'
If an article is not available at all, you can try to obtain a copy from the Inter Library Loans service, visit another library or contact the author of the article.
1. Connect a PDF filed on your computer to an existing reference in EndNote:
Tip: to find a PDF easier on your computer: save it on author name + year
2. Adding a PDF from your computer to EndNote without an existing EndNote reference
Important: to save yourself a lot of manual work, go to Edit > Preferences > PDF Handling. Default is don't rename. Change into Author+year+ title
Go to File > Import > choose the import option: PDF > Choose the PDF you want to import
For articles: in most cases the relevant fields (author, journal name etc.) will be filled automatically,
For reports, and other types of literature: this option will not work. You have to create the EndNote Record first. Search LibSearch or Google Scholar to find a reference and export it into EndNote. Or add information manually into the EndNote record and connect the full text with the paperclip option as described before.
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright