LibGuides: Subject Guide Law: Legal databases

Legal databases

The overview below shows a selection of the most important legal databases. These databases can be searched for various legal sources. This list includes all digital legal resources.

Beck Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database from German publisher Beck containing full-text textbooks, legal journals, legislation and case law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides complete indexing (from cover to cover) and abstracts of journals on all related topics, such as forensic science, police work, criminal justice and research.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of primarily U.S. case law, text collections, bibliographies and law collections. Large collection of full-text articles from international legal journals.
Legal Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Legal search engine: searches various sources such as journals, case law legislation and government docs.
InView Essential
- This link opens in a new window
Digital portal of Wolters Kluwer. Contains e-books and journals from Wolters Kluwer. This database includes de Asser-serie,de Groene-serie, Tekst & Commentaar and many other publications.
OpMaat
- This link opens in a new window
Database of Dutch legal and notarial information.
Rechtsorde
- This link opens in a new window
Legal search engine that searches various legal sources such as case law, articles, journals from various publishers, such as Kluwer, SDU, Boom, deLex and Paris. The Dutch Documentation Fiscal Law (NDFR) is searched. In 2024, the AI module GenIA-L was added to RO. Its use is optional.
Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Database of case law, articles and journals particularly from the US jurisdiction. The International Materials section provides useful primary and secondary information on international law. Videos explaining how to use WestLaw: https://libguides.rug.nl/europeanlaw/specificdatabases
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of case law, articles and journals from the UK in particular.

University Library website

Tips. Access and alternative versions

We recommend installing the Lean Library browser extension on your computer that automatically tracks UB digital content as well as Open Access content when searching for literature.

Read how to find alternative versions of the publisher's version of a magazine article in How to get the PDF?

Contact en aanschafsuggesties

Ruben Wiering

Email Me

Contact:

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. Universiteitsbibliotheek
De Boelelaan 1105, 1B-41
1081HV Amsterdam

+31 20 59 81060

Subjects: Law, Rechtsgeleerdheid