Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical collections

Finding books & other resources

Many recent books are available digitally.  Access rights for digital books vary: some books can be downloaded, and others can only be read from the screen. Often, the number of simultaneous users is limited.

Available e-books may be read directly on-screen; restrictions may apply to downloading and printing.

(E-) books can be found and accessed for:

AUMC - location VUmc through Libsearch. This guide gives instructions on how to use LibSearch efficiently. Please check the following information for borrowing and reserving paper copies from the library

AUMC - location AMC through the UvA catalogue.

 

In addition to paper atlases such as Sobotta and Netter - present in the medical library, the following online resources are available.

  • Anatomy.TV: a database of rotating 3D models of the human body and anatomical layers that can be removed; common pathology, radiologic content, and interactive quizzes.
  • Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is a 3D anatomical video atlas of fresh anatomical specimens in their natural color. It contains more than 300 spoken videos, arranged by region in five parts. Each volume provides in-depth coverage of bones, joints, muscles, and more.
  • AnatomyTOOL: open (clinical) anatomical and embryological images, 3D models, and other learning materials. The visual material can be freely used for education, assignments, and papers.

Only for AUMC - Location VUmc

The Complete Anatomy app provides a complete interactive 3D model of the human being. You can select, search, rotate, move or break practically all anatomical structures. Add or remove layers from the model, watch videos, and study radiology and histology.

Download the app on your smartphone, tablet, or laptop via the App Store, Play Store, and/or Microsoft store. Install and open the app. Register an account and use your student email (ending in @student.vu.nl) or employee email (@amsterdamumc.nl). Then open the settings and enter the University redeem code: GJ7KI7TJSLAS. The license is now activated and you have full access to the app.

Medical content

  • Studeergeneeskunde.nl: platform for medical e-books, mainly intended in master phase. Log in with your VU mailadress.
  • Melanocyte pathology.com: an online collection of digitized histological slides of benign, malignant and reactive melanocytic lesions of the skin and other body sites.
  • Histology Guide: a guide to recognizing microscopic structures, tissues and organs.   
  • Embryoatlas: made by the Department of Anatomy, Embryology; Physiology AMC, also includes 3D animations.  
  • Wikimedia Category Medicine: files can be downloaded at no cost for your own use.
  • MedPix: an open-access online database of medical images, educational cases and clinical topics.

Other content

  • Google BookSearch: a large, mostly full-text searchable database of millions of scanned books from libraries and publishers. In Advanced search, select search full view only.
  • NCBI books: provides free online access to books and documents in the fields of biology, medicine, and life sciences.
  • Hathi Trust: gives access to a collection of millions of digitized titles from libraries around the world. Search within 'advanced search', by "full view only" by ticking you are searching for open access sources.
  • Via Open Research Library en Find Open Textbooks you will find freely usable online textbooks in various fields.