University Library
University Library
General
Our LibSearch search system is the first database to search for scientific literature.
LibSearch contains information about all books, e-journals, e-articles and other materials of the University Library; in case of digital availability you can click directly to the full text.
In addition, LibSearch contains information about the holdings of many libraries worldwide.
If a search in LibSearch does not yield satisfactory results, you can use the subject-specific databases below or use Google Scholar.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowTop journals: a selection of frequently cited journals in wich Bèta employees regularly publish.
Nature
Science
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
Physical Review Letters
Physical Review D
PLoS ONE
Journal of High Energy
Look for a more complete overview E-Journals A-Z
Open archives - based on the ArXiv preprint-servermodel
Compulsory literature is in principle available in the University Library. These books are recognizable as MAIN OPEN Course literature (ONE DAY LOAN) and available through the lending desk. If available as an e-book such as Comprehensive medicinal chemistry it can be found and read online via LibSearch.
Sage Research Methods: a tool for researchers, teachers and students to assist in research projects. It offers qualitative and quantitative methods of research techniques.
You can find useful online textbooks via:
Alan Turingnet: digital facsimiles of original documents from Turing and other pioneers in the field of Computing and AI.
AMS books online: books & videos
Biodiversity Heritage Library: freely available literature on biodiversity.
Darwin's complete collection available online.
Farmacotherapeutisch Compas: publicly accessible reference work with up-to-date information about all medicines registered in the Netherlands.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science: conference proceedings with the latest developments in Computer Science. The titles can be found separately in Libsearch.
The use of open material in education is increasingly encouraged. More and more are becoming available, although it is difficult to find the right material. It is important to know the do's and dont's about Copyright.
Information about Educational resources and copyright support can be found in our Libguide Dealing with Copyright in Education. It also contains information about and links to sites with open learning material.
Do you want to find books that are freely available? Then search via:
Google BookSearch: a large, mostly full-text searchable database of millions of scanned books from libraries and publishers. Select in Advanced search: search full view only.
Hathi Trust: provides access to a collection of millions of digitized titles from libraries around the world. Search within 'advanced search', by checking "full view only" you search for open access sources.
Beeld en Geluid: manages a broad, daily growing media collection, with which everyone can learn, experience, and create.
Open textbooks and websites
Geoplaza: VU platform for digital spatial data and Geographic Information Systems (GIS), connected to the University Library collection of maps and atlases. Provides access for students and employees to various GIS software packages.
NGR - National Georegister: location of geo-information of the Netherlands.
Harvard WorldMap: an online, open source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information.
Information about Off-campus access
We recommend that you install the Lean Library browser extension on your computer, which allows you to use automatically access digital content from the University Library and Open Access content to track your literature.
Read in How to get the PDF? how to find alternative versions of the publisher version of a magazine article.
