The first thing you need to do when collecting terms is to search for the correct keywords. Most literature databases use controlled terms, also called keywords, but the way in which they are used may vary.
PubMed uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH terms). These controlled vocabulary thesaurus terms are used for indexing articles for PubMed. These terms are assigned to an article and provide information about the article’s content. In PubMed the assigned terms all belong to a setlist of keywords: the MeSH Database.
Search the MeSH Database to find relevant keywords related to the aspects of your research question.
The MeSH database has a large number of different features. The box 'More about MesH' shows more information about other MeSH features that may be useful for your search.
Make a note of all the useful terms for each aspect in your logbook. Use OR between the different terms about the same aspect. See the Combining tab for further information on this topic.
Tip: Copy and paste the MesH term from the search builder to avoid misspellings in your logbook.
You’ll find useful information in the MeSH database about the terms that you can use.
Make sure you always double check the description to see whether the term is relevant to your topic. For example:
Substances that reduce the growth or reproduction of BACTERIA.
Year introduced: 2004(1963)
Keywords are sorted in the MeSH database according to a treeview, showing the position of the term in a hierarchy. It can be useful to examine terms located higher in the tree to see what they cover. You might find that these terms are more appropriate to your query. On the other hand, you might also benefit from terms located lower in the tree to help you find articles that are far more specific. For example:
The standard setting in PubMed is to search for a term including all narrower terms below it in the hierarchy. You may opt to omit these narrower terms from your search by ticking the box:
Do not include MeSH terms found below this term in the MeSH hierarchy
NARCIS is dé nationale portal voor wie informatie zoekt over wetenschappers en hun werk. Naast wetenschappers maken ook studenten, journalisten en medewerkers binnen onderwijs, overheid en het bedrijfsleven gebruik van NARCIS.
NARCIS biedt toegang tot wetenschappelijke informatie waaronder (open access) publicaties afkomstig uit de repositories van alle Nederlandse universiteiten, KNAW, NWO en diverse wetenschappelijke instellingen, datasets van een aantal data-archieven, alsmede beschrijvingen van onderzoeksprojecten, onderzoekers en onderzoeksinstituten.
Dit houdt in dat NARCIS (nog) niet gebruikt kan worden als ingang tot complete overzichten van publicaties van onderzoekers. Er zijn echter steeds meer instellingen die al hun wetenschappelijke publicaties via NARCIS toegankelijk maken. Op deze wijze kunnen de publicatielijsten van de wetenschappers zo compleet mogelijk worden gemaakt.
In 2004 is de ontwikkeling van NARCIS gestart als een samenwerkingsproject van KNAW Onderzoek Informatie, NWO, VSNU en METIS in het kader van de dienstenontwikkeling binnen het DARE-programma van SURFfoundation. Dit project heeft de portal NARCIS verwezenlijkt, waarin in januari 2007 de dienst DAREnet is geïncorporeerd. Sinds 2011 is NARCIS een dienst van DANS.
A MOOC is an online course aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web.
National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is the main national portal for those looking for information about researchers and their work. Besides researchers, NARCIS is also used by students, journalists and people working in educational and government institutions as well as the business sector.
NARCIS provides access to scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.
This means that NARCIS cannot be used as an entry point to access complete overviews of publications of researchers (yet). However, there are more institutions that make all their scientific publications accessible via NARCIS. By doing so, it will become possible to create much more complete publication lists of researchers.
In 2004, the development of NARCIS started as a cooperation project of KNAW Research Information, NWO, VSNU and METIS, as part of the development of services within the DARE programme of SURFfoundation. This project resulted in the NARCIS portal, in which the DAREnet service was incorporated in January 2007. NARCIS has been part of DANS since 2011.
When people create educational resources, they may choose to share them with others openly and freely. This means that others can use these materials as part of their courses and lessons without permission. A creator of an open textbook, for example, can give explicit permission to others to use their book free of charge. We call these open education resources (OER).
Read more about it in our LibGuide Resource Centre for Education Resources and Copyright