University Library
University Library
Besides PubMed, there are a number of other databases where you might find articles related to your topic. If you are conducting a Systematic Review, you must search at least two databases to find all relevant literature on your topic. The list below shows literature databases that can be useful. .
Please note: The bulk of these databases are only accessible through the UBVU website. Go to www.ub.vu.nl/en. Click on 'Other VU resources'. Choose: 'e-Resources A-Z'. You will then be able to search for one of the following databases.
You can also search databases in the LibSearch search bar.
| Database | Description |
|---|---|
| Embase | Pharmacological and biomedical literature. Embase overlaps with PubMed to a considerable extent, but it contains more European journals and more articles on pharmacology. |
| Cochrane Library | Collection of databases including reviews and controlled trials in healthcare. |
| APA PsycInfo |
Psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as psychiatry, medicine, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, education |
| Cinahl Plus | Nursing and allied health disciplines. |
| SportDiscus | Sport, human movement and fitness literature. |
| Eric | Education and related research, documents and articles. |
| Pedro | Physiotherapy Evidence Database; featuring trials, reviews and guidelines. |
| Web of Science | Large database of scientific literature on all topics |
| Scopus | Largest database of peer-reviewed articles on all topics |
You will need to adjust your search queries for each database. Every database has its own features, so it is important to consult the help pages to find the best strategy. Here is an example of different queries for the Keyword and Title/Abstract field. Note: kw = author keywords. In PubMed, the [tiab]-code retrieves author keywords as well.
|
Database |
Search query |
|
PubMed |
"Anti-Bacterial Agents"[Mesh] OR "anti bacterial agent*"[tiab] OR antibiotic*[tiab] |
|
Embase |
'antibiotic agent'/exp OR ‘anti bacterial agent*’:ab,ti,kw OR antibiotic*:ab,ti,kw |
|
Cochrane Library |
anti NEXT bacterial NEXT agent* OR antibiotic* |
|
PsycINFO |
DE "Antibiotics" OR TI (antibiotic*) OR AB (antibiotic*) OR KW (antibiotic*) |