Skip to Main Content
University Library

Finding data

A guide to financial and socio-economic data such as Compustat, LSEG Workspace, SDC Platinum, WRDS, and CRSP

LSEG Workspace


The VU subscribes to LSEG Workspace starting from Jan 1st 2024. Formerly, the database was called Refinitiv WorkSpace, Eikon, and Datastream. Datasets in Workspace include Worldscope, IBES and Asset4 ESG and SDC. The data from the IBES dataset is less expansive than before, when the data was available through WRDS. Through a separate Workspace Excel add-in the SDC Platinum data will also be available.

Access

Access to data in Workspace is available through the Workspace website and specific Workspace software. The software includes a Workspace  Add-in for Microsoft Excel and a separate SDC Excel add-in. It is available for Windows and Mac computers. More details are available through the Workspace website, including test software to find out if your computer meets the right technical requirements. The LSEG Workspace website access works best with the following internet software: Chrome, Safari and Edge.

Access to Workspace requires a Workspace account and is only available for students and personnel at the VU. Each student account has a monthly download limit of 10 million datapoints. Because of the fact that a limited number of accounts are available, an account will provide access for 1 week, after which you can re-apply for when an account becomes available again. When you apply for an account please use your VU e-mail account and include information on:

  • your faculty/department
  • specify for what purpose you want/need an account (specific course /research project)

Requests for a Workspace account can be sent to: datasupport@vu.nl

Four computers in the library are available with the LSEG Workspace installed. The computers are located on the 6th floor: HG 6B-01. Warning: to use the LSEG software you will always need a personal account. You can make a reservation here:

Content

Workspace is an international database with time series data such as stock exchange data, official company data, credit ratings and macro-economic information. This includes free (open) data but also licensed data from other data providers. Below is a brief overview of data that is available at the university.

Database Description

Asset4 ESG

The database provides environmental, social and governance (ESG) information based on more than 250 key performance indicators and over 750 individual data points along with their original data sources. Asset4 currently covers more than 14.000 listed companies worldwide.

I/B/E/S/

I/B/E/S/ provides current and historical consensus and forecasts from security analysts, for companies worldwide. Forecast data items include earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections, and stock recommendations. I/B/E/S/ can be searched using the Workspace interface.

Workspace (Datastream)

Global market data. This includes macroeconomic data on countries as well as microdata such as prices, commodities, exchange rates, options, futures, and derivatives.

Workspace SDC (Platinum)

 The database mainly covers data on Initial Public Offerings, mergers & acquisitions, and Venture Capital data. The data is available (with limits) through the main Workspace environment. Through the SDC Platinum Excel add-in large downloads are possible (less limited). More details on the SDC content is available at the SDC Platinum page.

WorldScope

This database contains financial information on approximately 80.000 companies worldwide. Annual report data goes back to the 1980s.

Documentation and manuals