Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding data

Company sources

This section presents data sources that collect company data. Examples include data on number of employees, total assets, or R&D expenditures. We also include sources for data on ownership structures, mergers & acquisitions, and governance data such as executive compensation. The sources mentioned here are licensed and can only be used by students or researchers affiliated with the VU. Most sources can be accessed from home. If you need instructions on how to get access, you can check the information on the library web site.

The list below lists the most often used sources available at the VU. For a more complete list that also includes some publicly available sources, use the full list of data sources on the library website.

Before you start downloading data from databases it is a good idea to consult the Libguide on Working with data.

Data Source Description
Bureau Van Dijk

Bureau Van Dijk provides a number of databases that provide company information. Orbis Europe provides data on financial information and ownership for European companies; Orbis Bankfocus for banks and other companies in the financial services industry; and Zephyr has information on Mergers & Acquisitions and Initial Public Offerings.

Compustat

A collection of databases with company data. This includes Compustat ExecuComp which contains extensive data on salaries and compensations of executives from firms in the US and Canada. Compustat Global provides financial and market data on more than eighty countries. Compustat North America contains financial information for active and inactive public companies from the US and Canada.

Factset

 

Factset offers a wide range of financial, economic, and company data. This includes accounting data, ownership data, mergers and acquisitions, stock prices, market indices, exchange rates, and many other series. Geographic coverage is global, but the main focus is on the US and Europe.

SDC Platinum

 

 

 

 

 

 

This database consists of three modules.

US and Non-US Mergers & Acquisitions
This source allows researching of US targets from 1979 and non-US targets from 1985.
Global New Issues (equities and bonds)
This source provides research on US public offerings from 1970 to the present and international offerings from 1983 to present.
Venture Capital (VentureXpert)
Industry resources (funds, firms, portfolio companies, individuals) and industry statistics.

Access to SDC requires software that is only available on two specific computers in the library.