Access
Starting at January 1st 2024, the SDC data will be available through LSEG Workspace. Through a separate Workspace Excel add-in the SDC Platinum data will be fully available without limits.
Content
Securities Data Company (SDC) Platinum™ is an online historical financial transactions database that provides detailed financial transaction information available on new issues, M&A, bonds, syndicated loans, private equity, and project finance.. The SDC Platinum subscription at the VU covers four modules:
- Mergers & Acquisitions
This source allows researching of US targets from 1979 and non-US targets from 1985. The M&A data includes also data on privatizations, Buyouts, recapitalizations, etc.There is a separate Joint Ventures & Alliances database as well. Smaller repurchase transactions are available in the separate database Repurchases
- Global New Issues (equities and bonds)
This source provides research on US public offerings from 1970 to the present and international offerings from 1983 to present. The data includes both original Ipo's as well as secondary offerings, and also includes, bonds, warrants, etc. A separate part database covers specific syndicated loans data
- Venture Capital (VentureXpert)
The data is available in different part databases that cover investment funds, fund management firms, and portfolio companies, Individual performance level data for funds is not avallable. Industry Statistics data is also very limited. Specific sections cover Limited Partners and Executives
- Global Public Finance
The database covers data on publicly finance on different levels: country, district, and municipal. A separate section covers Project Finance type data
Documentation and manuals
The documents offer lists of variables for the databases in SDC. Although the lists are based on the older versions of SDC, the content is largely the same and you can get a good idea (beforehand) what variables can be found. Some descriptions or definitions are also included:
Other information
University Library