LibGuides: Finding data: Full Database Overview

=Off

Company data

Financial markets

Economics

International organisations

Product markets

Audit Analytics | IVES website
Audit Analytics provides different types of data related to auditing, for example auditing fees, auditor tenure and changes, and financial restatements. The data are available for public firms in Canada, the United States, and Europe.

More
Audit Analytics | WRDS
Audit Analytics provides different types of data related to auditing, for example auditing fees, auditor tenure and changes, and financial restatements. The data are available for public firms in Canada, the United States, and Europe.

More
CBS | Open Data
Statistics Netherlands provides data on the Dutch economy and society. Aggregated and Open data are available freely. More
CBS | StatLine
Statistics Netherlands provides data on the Dutch economy and society. Aggregated data are available freely. More
CBS | Volkstellingen (Census)
Statistics Netherlands provides data on the Dutch economy and society. Separate website on population / census data from the past.

More

Compustat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compustat (Capital IQ) is a collection of databases with company data. Access is provided through the WRDS platform.
See here for more information. The WRDS platform can be accessed using a Day Pass. A video explaining the use of the Day Pass is available here.

More
CRSP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The following databases are licensed from the Center for Research in Security Prices. The license covers the following part databases: CRSP Mutual Fund Database, CRSP 1925 US Stock Database, CRSP 1925 US Indices Database, and the CRSP/Compustat Merged Database.
Access is provided through the WRDS platform. The WRDS platform can be accessed using a Day Pass. A video explaining the use of the Day Pass is available here.

More

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Eurostat produces European statistics in partnership with National Statistical Institutes and other national authorities in the EU Member States.
More

FRED This link opens in a new window
FRED collects and provides 498.000 US and international websites from 87 sources. You can search for series using keywords, or browse using tags or categories. FRED has data on banking, finance, employment, price indices, and more, and also provides data sets from several influential academic publications.

more

IBES
This source provides current and historical consensus data and forecasts from security analysts, for companies worldwide.
Access is provided through the LSEG Workspace platform.
More
IMF | Balance of Payments Statistics
The international Monetary Fund publishes a large number of financial and economic data series for countries around the world. Data can be downloaded in bulk. Key sources for IMF data are Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Finance Statistics.
More
IMF | Direction of Trade Statistics
The international Monetary Fund publishes a large number of financial and economic data series for countries around the world. Data can be downloaded in bulk. Key sources for IMF data are Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Finance Statistics.
More
IMF | Government Finance Statistics
The international Monetary Fund publishes a large number of financial and economic data series for countries around the world. Data can be downloaded in bulk. Key sources for IMF data are Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Finance Statistics.
More
IMF | International Finance Statistics
The international Monetary Fund publishes a large number of financial and economic data series for countries around the world. Data can be downloaded in bulk. Key sources for IMF data are Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Finance Statistics.
More
LSEG Workspace- website (Account required)
- This link opens in a new window
Workspace is an international database with time series data such as stock exchange data, official company data, credit ratings and macro-economic information. This includes free (open) data but also licensed data from other data providers.
More
LSEG Workspace Software (Account- required)
- This link opens in a new window
Workspace is an international database with time series data such as stock exchange data, official company data, credit ratings and macro-economic information. This includes free (open) data but also licensed data from other data providers.
More
NYSE TaQ
The database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
Access is provided through the WRDS platform. If you need a lot of data (> 5 GB) from TAQ we recommend that you use a WRDS account. The WRDS platform can also be accessed using a Day Pass. A video explaining the use of the Day Pass is available here.

More.
OECD
Data and publications from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
More

Orbis BankFocus This link opens in a new window
This source covers information on banks, insurance companies, and other types of firms in the financial services industry.

More
Orbis M&A (Zephyr) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database has information on mergers and acquisitions, Initial Public Offerings, and Venture Capital. Former name: Zephyr.

More
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor's Passport is a comprehensive market research database incorporating detailed statistics and research analysis of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions. Coverage includes detailed research on a range of consumer industries; comprehensive statistics with historical coverage for some series dating back to mid-90s; and research, analysis, statistics, and forecast on consumer trends for many product categories.

More

RepRisk
The Database covers Environmental, social, governance (ESG) issues as they relate to companies —environmental degradation, child labor, corruption, etc.—can translate into reputational, compliance, and financial risks.

more
SDC Platinum (LSEG Workspace)
- This link opens in a new window
Securities Data Company (SDC) Platinum™ is an online historical financial transactions database that provides detailed financial transaction information available on new issues, M&A, bonds, syndicated loans, private equity, and project finance.
More

Thomson Reuters Tick History

The options and futures intraday data was originally supplied by Thomson Reuters and covers approximately eight years of data from 2007-2015.
More

Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) platform provides access to many data sources through a uniform interface.

To get access to WRDS, you need to enter your institutional email address (that is, the email address ending in '@vu.nl' or '@student.vu.nl') on the WRDS home page. You will receive your Day Pass link from WRDS by mail, usually within a few minutes. An example video on using a Day Pass is available on Youtube

More

World Bank
Data and publications from the World Bank.

More